Roasted Sweet Potatoes

As you know, I love roasted vegetables. Love them! I love roasted mushrooms, broccoli, cauliflower, asparagus, etc. I found this recipe on pinterest. I tried it once and mostly followed the recipe (adding some olive oil instead of all butter and adding garlic because garlic makes everything better, in my opinion.) It was a hit with my family. I tried to make it again a month or so later and when I went to retrieve the recipe from pinterest, it was gone! The picture was there but the original website it was linked to was no longer available so I had to improvise since I couldn’t remember exact proportions. This is the recipe I used and they turned out delicious.  I am sure that you and your family will like these! Mine did! Enjoy.

Ingredients:

2 sweet potatoes or yams

1 tablespoon of butter

1-2 tablespoons olive oil

1-2 cloves of garlic sliced

Kosher Salt to taste

Method:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Wash, peel and cube sweet potatoes into 1 inch pieces. Place in a glass baking dish. Place slices of garlic in olive oil in a small bowl to coat garlic. Add olive oil mixture to sweet potatoes (this ensures the garlic won’t scorch). Use more or less olive oil depending on how many sweet potatoes or yams you use.  Cut butter into small pieces and add to mixture. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stir to coat.  Bake for 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes or until sweet potatoes are tender and slightly browned and caramelized. Enjoy!

I served this with red lentils and homemade pita bread. Recipes to come!

Leave a comment