Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (recipe from Pinterest)

These are sooo good!

 

By Texas standards, today was a cold and wintry day, the perfect day for baking cookies and with my two helpers at each side, we made these chocolate chip cookies from a recipe I found on pinterest. We made lots of cookies so the kids can take some to their teachers tomorrow as an early Valentine’s Day present and I can bring some to my fabulous colleagues at work. That is, if there are any left by tomorrow. The recipe makes a plethora of cookies (Jefe, do you know what a plethora is?). There will be plenty for us,for my friends at work, and for my children’s amazing teachers.

This recipe is adapted from this recipe. I substituted butter for the margarine and used parchment paper instead of silpat. These were the only changes I made. The recipe below is my version. These are the best oatmeal chocolate chip cookies I have ever made! (My quest for the best recipe in this category is over). I hope you enjoy them and thank you so much for tolerating my quote (as best I can remember) from the Three Amigos.

Almost Potbelly Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie

http://www.pardonthedoghair.com/2012/01/potbelly-oatmeal-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

1 cup butter (softened)
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 cups quick oats (or regular, food processed)
2 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 cups chocolate chips ( I used Guitard milk chocolate chips because they are bigger than standard chocolate chips and because they are so delicious, you could eat them without a cookie surrounding them)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl, cream margarine and sugars. Add in egg, one at a time, beating after every addition.  Mix in vanilla.

In a separate bowl, combine oats, flour, baking soda, and salt.  Mix together then slowly add into the margarine mixture. Add about a cup at a time, mix, then add another cup. Do this until it is all blended together.  Mix in chocolate chips.

Form dough into medium size balls, place on cookie sheet covered with a parchment, and bake for about 10 minutes.

5 thoughts on “Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (recipe from Pinterest)

Leave a Reply

